The American Institute of Architects (AIA) has been the leading professional membership association for licensed architects, emerging professionals, and allied partners since 1857. The AIA Corpus Christi chapter was incorporated in 1960 as a way to bring local architects together to continue advancement and development in the profession. Representing approximately 80,000 members nationally, 6,000 members statewide, and 100 members locally; this three-tiered organization is the largest voice of the architectural community.

AIA Corpus Christi unites the community of design professionals who live and work in the Texas Coastal Bend by connecting directly with architects, associates, and professionals in the design and build industries. Acting as a resource to the general public, AIA Corpus Christi utilizes its vast local and national opportunities to educate, promote and encourage ongoing support and appreciation of innovative and historic architecture.


Sign up for our Mailing List



8dec6:00 pm- 9:00 pmAIA Corpus Christi Holiday Party


Corpus Christi, Texas – October 13, 2016 – Richer Architects swept the night receiving all of the 4 awards given at the AIA Corpus Christi 2016 Design Awards Reception held at the Art Center of Corpus Christi on Tuesday, October 11.  Three juried awards and one open-vote award were given.  All submitted projects are on exhibit at the Art Center of Corpus Christi, Lockett Gallery through the end of the October.

Juried Awards:

Merit Award:  The Del Mar College Music Building Phase 1, Corpus Christi, Texas

Owner:  Del Mar College

Architect:  Richter Architects

Jury comments: “[The building] sought to organize the campus into a coherent while by embracing an outdoor amphitheater.”


Merit Award:  Turpin West House, Corpus Christi, Texas

Owner:  Private Residence

Architect:  Richter Architects

Jury comments:  “a very small house that despite its size and lack of pretention, employed essential elements of architecture like walls and spaces in a clear and convicted way to create a work that is not only elegant but fits into its neighborhood so well.”


Honor AwardPacific Combat Zone – Phase 1,  Fredericksburg, Texas.

Owner:  The Admiral Nimitz Foundation

Architect:  Richter Architects

Jury comments:  “This project was a modest but exquisite acropolis-like composition of the three elements of the museum.”


Open Vote Award:


People’s Choice Award:  Rose House, Wimberly, Texas

Owner:  Private Residence

Architect:  Richter Architects


Jury panel members:


John M. McGinty, FAIA:  Former National President of AIA

Sarah Whiting:  Dean, Rice School of Architecture

Nonya Grenader, FAIA:  Professor in the Practice of Architecture, Rice University


Check out the TAC Challenge from our 2016 TAC Director Connie Rivera.

Click the logos to donate today!

Join this year’s contributors and support architectural adovacy at the state and national levels of our government.

TAC and ArchiPAC are non-profit and political action organizations for architects.  TAC helps advocacy efforts at the state level, while ArchiPAC is focused at the national level.  Texas members of the AIA can participate by contributing to both organizations. TAC and ArchiPAC thank all contributors for their generous support of their advocacy efforts on behalf of the architectural profession.


Goal 100%
Goal 30%

TAC Update:

Well, we are now down to the wire and incredibly close to goal!  Below are the stats as they were at the end of October with the addition of Rob Garcia who stepped up at the TxA Conference last week and contributed.   I don’t have the report on others who may have also contributed during the conference and I hope to have that in the next couple of days.  Also a special thanks to Jorge Ollervides, and Jason Young who are repeat contributors this past month!

Thank you to all those who have contributed thus far.  Here are our stats!

  •          AIA CC Goal:                   $5,600
  •          Received to Date:          $5,435 or 97% **
  •          Needed:                            $  165 to meet goal!**
  •          Contributor Goal:           30 persons
  •          Contributors:                   33 or 110%

** This is based on confirmed amounts – I am aware of others who have contributed in the past week, but do not have confirmed amounts.
The challenge is still on!   Let’s keep up the momentum.   We are less than $200 to goal!

Thank You to Members who have already contributed:
Debbie Montez – AIA Corpus Christi
Laura Wright, AIA – Del Mar College/Lopez-Salas Architects
Cliff Dickson, AIA – Dickson Builders, Inc.
Josh Seahorn, AIA – Dykema Architects
Ira Freeman, AIA – Freeman Schroeder Architects
Sheldon Schroeder, AIA – Freeman Schroeder Architects
Jorge Ollervides, Assoc. AIA – Fulton*Coastcon Construction
Jacqueline Carlson, AIA – JMC Architecture
Ron Foster, AIA – LNV
Todd Brendalen, AIA – LWA
Rob Garcia, AIA – LWA
Albert Soto, AIA – LWA
Jason Young, AIA – LWA
Mark Luddeke, AIA – Luddeke Architect
Jim Boggs, AIA – Naismith/Hanson Inc
J. Eric Rivera, AIA – Naismith/Hanson Inc
Mitch Sanchez, Assoc. AIA – Naismith/Hanson Inc
Stephen Cox, AIA – Richter Architects
Albert Delgado, Assoc. AIA – Richter Architects
Sam Morris, AIA – Richter Architects
Elizabeth Chu Richter, FAIA – Richter Architects
Erasmo Nava, AIA – SolkaNavaTorno
Jay Porterfield, AIA – SolkaNavaTorno
Ray Torno, AIA – SolkaNavaTorno
Kyle Miller, AIA – Turner Ramirez Architects
Philip Ramirez, AIA – Turner Ramirez Architects
Morgan Spear, AIA – Morgan Spear & Associates
Jennifer Hilliard, AIA – WKMC Architects
William McCord, AIA – WKMC Architects
Connie G. Rivera, AIA –  WKMC Architects
Frank Trimble, III, AIA – WKMC Architects
Bill T. Wilson, II, FAIA – WKMC Architects
Anonymous Donor

Thank you!
Connie G. Rivera, AIA
TSA Chapter Director, AIA Corpus Christi